Authors and Credits

PlasmaPy Coordinating Committee

  • Drew Leonard
  • Nick Murphy
  • Tulasi Parashar
  • Dominik Stańczak

PlasmaPy Contributors

The people in the following list have contributed to PlasmaPy. Included in parentheses are ORCID author identifiers.

This list contains contributors to PlasmaPy’s core package and vision statement, including a few people who do not show up as PlasmaPy contributors on GitHub. If you made a contribution that was merged and your name is missing from the list, your information is incorrect, or you do not wish to be listed, then please submit a pull request or email

Other Credits

The PlasmaPy Community thanks the SunPy and Astropy communities for inspiring this project in the first place, providing much helpful advice, and showing examples of how to build a community-wide open source scientific software package.


Early development on PlasmaPy was partially supported by the U.S. Department of Energy through grant DE-SC0016363 that was funded through the NSF-DOE Partnership on Basic Plasma Science and Engineering; a Scholarly Studies grant awarded by the Smithsonian Institution; and Google Summer of Code. PlasmaPy is being developed with support from the U.S. National Science Foundation through grants 1931388, 1931393, 1931429, and 1931435 that were awarded through a collaborative proposal submitted to the Cyberinfrastructure for Sustained Scientific Innovation (CSSI) program and NASA Heliophysics Data Environment Enhancements (HDEE) grant 80NSSC20K0174. Any opinions, findings, and conclusions or recommendations expressed in this material are those of the authors and do not necessarily reflect the views of any of the funding agencies or organizations that have supported PlasmaPy development.